£845.83 + VAT

£1,015 incl. VAT

NCL Level 3 Certificate In Law and Practice

The five-unit NCL Level 3 Certificates in Law and Practice are paralegal qualifications offered in a variety of legal practice areas. The Certificates are standalone qualifications . NCL Law School offers these paralegal qualifications by distance learning and On Campus.

Who are these qualifications for?

These qualifications serve a wide variety of purposes and are suitable for:

  • anyone wishing to gain an entry-level qualification in law, perhaps as a more practical alternative to law A-level
  • those looking to have a qualification to assist with getting a foot in the door of the legal profession
  • paralegals and legal administrators in law firms who wish to develop into a file-handling role
  • legal secretaries in law firms who wish to build on their legal secretarial experience
  • those dealing with employment or contractual matters, debt recovery, mortgage lending, personal injury, insurance or children’s services
  • the NCL Level 3 Certificate in Law and Practice also contributes to the first stage of Newcastle Legal Executive training, so you could build on the qualification if you find you have an aptitude for legal study.

Available practice areas

The NCL Level 3 Certificate in Law and Practice is available in 10 practice areas:

  • Child Care Practice
  • Civil Litigation – with Law of Tort
  • Civil Litigation – with Contract Law
  • Conveyancing
  • Criminal Litigation
  • Elderly Client Practice
  • Employment Practice
  • Family Practice
  • Probate Practice
  • Residential and Commercial Leasehold Conveyancing

What will you study?

Each NCL Level 3 Certificate in Law and Practice focuses on a specific practice area and there are ten to choose from. To achieve a Certificate, you need to study five courses in total:

 Mandatory units

You will need to study three mandatory units as part of your Certificate, including an introductory unit and two professional skills units:

  1. Client Care Skills
  2. Legal Research Skills
  3. Introduction to Law and Practice

One law and one practice unit

You select one of the following combinations, depending on the area of law that you are most interested in:

  • Civil Litigation with Contract Law
  • Civil Litigation with Law of Tort
  • Conveyancing with Land Law
  • Criminal Litigation with Criminal Law
  • The Practice of Family Law with Family Law
  • The Practice of Employment Law with Employment Law
  • Probate Practice with Law of Wills and Succession
  • The Practice of Law for the Elderly Client with  Law of Wills and Succession
  • The Practice of Child Care Law with Family Law
  • Residential and Commercial Leasehold Conveyancing with Land Law


Course information

You may not need to do introductory unit if you already hold a relevant qualification such as a law A level. Information on exemptions is given on the How our courses work page. If you are entitled to this exemption then you can buy individual courses or alternative packages for the remaining four units.

Our NCL courses are delivered by supported distance learning, and you can enrol on any course at any time of year. You will benefit from a wide range of support every step of the way.

Membership and exam fees

NLC courses prepare you for the exams for the units that make up the qualifications. Exams are set by the Chartered Institute of Legal Executives (NCL). You will need to become a member of NCL and pay membership fees. Exam fees are also payable. Please refer to the How our NCL courses work or individual course pages to find out more.